Basingstoke Town vs Hendon

Basingstoke 2 - 1 Hendon
08 Dec 2018 - 15:00The Camrose Stadium, RG22 6EZ


Sam Deadfield’s goal and assist gave Martin Kuhl’s home debut all three points.

Dan Bayliss and Deadfield goals were almost overshadowed by a dubious penalty awarded to the away side.

First chance of the game fell to Sam Argent who flew through on goal and was taken down by Danny Boness, but the keeper got enough of the ball for no foul.

Then a clever corner routine, as Deadfield worked it short, he then curled it to the far post where Bayliss was there to head it home.

The score line was doubled as Deadfield once again had a corner. This time his low corner came off the keeper and rolled into the net.

Zidan Akers sprinted past the full-back and his cut back was taken off the toes of Ben Wright, after a wonderful counter attack.

The away side won a penalty after Colm McAdden steamed off his line and very similar to the early challenge on Argent, McAdden went down and won the ball but the referee gave a dubious penalty which was converted by German.


Ben Wright had the first chance of the second half as he danced past three defenders and his shot was deflected just over.

Wright then played in a wonderful through ball to Argent who forced a good save out of the keeper. Then the ball ended at the forwards feet who passed to Sam Smart who made the keeper work hard again.

Midway through the second half, the home side had the chance to wrap it up as Akers was found on his own at the back post, but his header was just wide from Smarts ball in.

Nearing the end of the game, a dangerous free-kick found Gianni Crichlow who headed just over.

Basingstoke was awarded a penalty when Smart was fouled in the area. Dean Stow stepped up but blazed it over.


Basingstoke Town XI: Colm McAdden, Dean Stow, Dan Bayliss, Harry Philby (Dan Collier), Rob Gerrard, Charlie Kennedy (c), Sam Deadfield, Zidan Akers (Drew Matthews), Ben Wright, Sam Smart, Sam Argent.

Subs not used: Cameron Kennedy, Jim Orvis, Liam Hunt.

Hendon XI: Danny Boness, Taishan Griffith (Tyriq Hunte), Lee Chappell (c), Bayley Brown, Howard Hall, Adam Pepara, Shaquille Hippolyte-Patrick, Ricardo Alexander Greenway (Shaun Lucien), Ricardo German, Matthew Harriott, Cole Brown (Gianni Crichlow).

Subs not used: Prince Mbengui, Connor Calcutt.