Basingstoke Town vs Chesham United

Basingstoke 2 - 3 Chesham
12 Jan 2019 - 15:00The Camrose Stadium, RG22 6EZ


Sam Argent’s goal and assist was not enough as the forward was then sent off in his side’s defeat.

Goals from Argent and Ben Wright had put the home side in the lead at half time, but Chesham’s quickfire double meant they left the Camrose with all three points.

The first chance of the game fell to Zidan Akers, as Argent’s flick on found the winger whose shot on target forced a save.

Chesham grew into the game and put debutant Tom McGill under pressure, but a few good saves and punches kept them out.

More good build up by Basingstoke as Sam Deadfield, Wright, Argent and Harry Pearse all linked up with each other as Pearse’s chance was smothered by the keeper.

Eoin Casey then put the away side in the lead as he connected with Pearce’s corner.

An instant response from Basingstoke as Akers cross found Argent, free in the box, who headed past the keeper to equalise.

Just before half time, Wright put the home side ahead. Argent laid the ball off to Wright on the edge of the area who strolled past the defender and tucked the ball into the net.


Steve Brown equalised with a repeat of the first goal, as he headed in Pearce’s corner.

The away side took the lead just after the hour mark as Ronny Mfinda, who could have been offside, found the ball at his feet and put it past McGill.

Argent was then shown a straight red card for a challenge on David Sota.

The tide started to turn Basingstoke’s way, as Dean Stow’s excellent free-kick was tipped over the bar.

From the resulting corner Dan Bayliss’ header was just wide.

Before full time Deadfield had a chance as the ball ended up at his feet in the box, but it whistled just pass the post.


Basingstoke Town XI: Tom McGill, Dean Stow, Charlie Kennedy (c) (Shane Hollamby), Dan Bayliss, Rob Gerrard, Zidan Akers (Drew Matthews), Harry Pearse (Dan Collier), Sam Deadfield, Sam Smart, Ben Wright, Sam Argent.

Subs: Liam Hunt, Jim Orvis.

Chesham United XI: Ben Goode, James Hammond, David Sota, Adam Martin, Kieran Murphy, Steve Brown (c), Billy Adcock, Bradley Clayton, Ronny Mfinda (Jefferson Louis), Eion Casey, Dave Pearce (Ryan Blake).

Subs: Luke Heneghan, Femi Ogunsola, Michael Murray.